I Am Taking the Dare: Oil Cleansing Method

Ok, so this thing excites me—washing my face with none other than OIL.

A friend of mine gave me a bottle of sunflower beauty oil as a Christmas present and was intrigued by its tagline, “Miracle oil”. I got more intrigued when I read the wonders it can make, it claims it lightens underarms, dark pimple marks, adds shines to hair, effectively removes make-up, prevents and diminishes stretch marks, etc., etc.

sunflower

I got so curious, I had burning questions I need answers right away so I Google-d. After reading on the benefits of sunflower oil, I was able to dig deeper and I came across something that’s really new to me. It’s called the oil cleansing method. The info I got on this particular topic was not only enormously surprising, but also made me want to experiment on it myself.  These two blogs, One Good Thing by Jillee, and Crunchy Betty and this website called, The Oil Cleansing Method are very informative, even the comments are beneficial! What surprised me the most is that I have never read a negative feedback about it, and everyone who has been in this regimen is satisfied with the outcome.

nut-oilsOk, let’s cut to the chase, lemme explain briefly what the logic behind oil cleansing method is, and eventually share with you the actual process of this beauty regimen.

Scientifically speaking, like dissolves like, thus oil dissolves oil. Our skin produces bad oil. Mixed with dirt, bacteria, and what have you, acne breaks out. But when you replace this with good oil, it nourishes your skin and diminishes the risk of producing pimples, because bacteria will not grow in good oil–an environment that is unfavorable to their growth. If the premise is to simply eliminate oil, why not just buy the products that claim to get you porcelain-like skin? Because they strip off oil that are essential to our skin to keep its moisture. The problem with this is that our skin overcompensates, producing more oil, making us more greasy, hence, increasing the potential of break out. In this case, our skin will never heal because we fail to target the root cause. That’s why these products never worked!

Oil Cleansing Method (OCM) goes like this:

What you need: oils, washcloth, hot water

Examples of oils are*

  • Oily Skin: Try a blend of 30% Castor Oil to 70% Sunflower Seed Oil.
  • Balanced Skin: Try a blend of 20% Castor Oil to 80% Sunflower Seed Oil.
  • Dry Skin: Try a blend of 10% Castor Oil to 90% Sunflower Seed Oil.

*these are lifted from The Oil Cleansing Method website.

  1. Blend oils depending on what your skin needs.
  2. Massage onto face (no need to pre-clean).
  3. Relax and continue massaging gently, focusing on problem areas.
  4. Put the washcloth under running water. Remove excess water and place it over your face while warm until it cools down. (I repeat this step 2-3 times).

All the things I retold above are so convincing, compelling me to grab to sunflower oil bottle and try washing my face with oil for the first time. Am just psyched to experience the results myself. I hope they’re amazing!

2 thoughts on “I Am Taking the Dare: Oil Cleansing Method

  1. I just posted a similar post on my own blog about olive oil. Any natural oil will do wonders to your skin and hair, you won’t regret it! I’ve been doing it for a while now and my hair and skin have never been better!

Leave a Reply

